Woodmill Pool Swaythling

B

bungle

Hi eleslieevans,

We are booked there for the 19th June.:)

Ive never fished it before,but well let you know how we get on.

Nice pics by the way,what month were they caught?

Ian

Re: Pics of sea trout

Re: Pics of sea trout

Hi Bungle,
Good Luck!
Are you fishing Day or night?
I have been fishing Woodmill for the last 16 years.
We have had some fantastic sport during this,and have numerous Double figure sea trout Caught and lost,And many over 6 lb.The only problem there in the last couple of years is the flow that goes through the main gates gushes through so fast that it makes it extremely hard to fish at low tide. I am hoping that this year they have all three sluices up and working properly!
The fish in the pics were caught in July and August.
Given the right conditions We've had fish from the beginning of June onwards.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Many Thanks !
Les

B

bungle

Hi Bungle,
Good Luck!
Are you fishing Day or night?
Hi,

we have booked it for the night,I think the tide will be around 10pm ish.
What would be the key stage of the tide in your experience???

Thanks

Ian

Hi Ian,
We seem to have most success on the rising and dropping tide especially if the current is hammering through, and at low tide if you can fish a fly slow enough.
But saying that every time it seems to be different.Sometimes high tide can pay dividends!
I normally have four rods set up (floater,sink tip,intermedate and wetcel 2) and use what ever will get down a bit pending on the current,as it changes with the automatic sluice gates.
When the tide is up we normally fish up to a 2inch waddington on intermediate with a dropper, and fish deep.
succesful flies are Silver Stoat, Alexandra,Teal blue and Silver<and i have had a lot of success on a long shank 5mm Gold Head Gold Ribbed Hares Ear,but make sure it is tied on a strong hook as I have lost some big fish straightening the hook.